Georgia State Law (Daycare)

WHAT THE LAW SAYS

Local health officials often tell day care operators their centers are complying with the law as long as 90 percent of their children have proof of vaccinations, a temporary waiver or medical or religious exemption.

But the law says:

“No child shall be admitted to or attend any school or facility in this state unless the child shall first have submitted a certificate of immunization to the responsible official of the school or facility. …”

“Any responsible official permitting any child to remain in a school or facility in violation of this Code section, and any parent or guardian who intentionally does not comply with this Code section, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not more than $100.00 or by imprisonment for not more than 12 months.”

To read the full text of the law, O.C.G.A. 20-2-771, go here

To attend day care, depending on the child’s age, Georgia law may require vaccination against measles, mumps, rubella, polio, whooping cough, chickenpox, diphtheria, tetanus, hepatitis A and B, pneumococcal disease, and Haemophilus influenzae type B (Hib). Exemptions are allowed for medical and religious reasons.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: